Multianvil Workshop 2021

International Workshop on "Development of multianvil technology and its applications to Earth and material sciences

  • Date: 22-24 September 2021 
  • Venue: virtual by Zoom

In this workshop, participants will present state-of-the-art research results obtained by multianvil experiments in the fields of Earth and material sciences for helping the future development of research using multianvil apparatus.

We invite all experimentalists that use multianvil apparatus for their main research tool, and also researchers that obtain results using other techniques in combination with multianvil experiments, from all over the world.

On the second day (23 September 2021), a special session about multianvil beamlines in large facilities worldwide will be held. The following invited talks from 12 facilties are planned:

  • Synchrotron radiation
    • Wilson Crichton, ESRF, France
    • Robert Farla: PETRA-III, DESY, Germany
    • Nick Farmer: Australian Synchrotron
    • Nicolas Guignot: Soleil, France
    • Yuji Higo: SPring-8, Japan
    • Yang Ke: SSRF, China
    • Matthew Whitaker: NSLS-II, USA
    • Tony Yu: GeoSoilEnviroCARS, APS, USA
  • Neutron
    • Takanori Hattori: MLF, J-PARC, Japan
    • Nicolas Walte: FRM-II, Germany

The following 44 researchers from 12 countries have already agreed to give a talk. (in the alphabetical order of the family names)

  • Dmitry Bondar (University of Bayreuth, Germany)
  • Nao Cai (University of Chinese Academy of Sciences Beijing, China)
  • Julien Chantel (University of Lille, France)
  • Artem Chanyshev (University of Bayreuth, Germany)
  • Bin Chen (University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa, USA)
  • Jiuhua Chen (Florida International University, USA)
  • Lidong Dai (Institute of Geochemistry CAS Guiyang, China)
  • Rajdeep Dasgupta (Rice University, USA)
  • Hongzhan Fei (University of Bayreuth, Germany)
  • Damien Freitas (University of Edinburgh, UK)
  • Sujoy Ghosh (Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur, India)
  • Huiyang Gou (HPSTAR Beijing, China)
  • Ulrich Häussermann (Stockholm University, Sweden)
  • Simon Hunt (University of Manchester, UK)
  • Takayuki Ishii (HPSTAR Beijing, China)
  • Zhicheng Jing (Southern University of Science and Technology, China)
  • Shun-ichiro Karato (Yale University, USA)
  • Eun Jeong Kim (University of Bayreuth, Germany)
  • Monika Koch-Müller (GFZ Helmholtz Center Potsdam, Germany)
  •  Jennifer Kung (National Chengkung University, Taiwan)
  • Sung Keun Lee (Seoul National University, Korea)
  • Li Li (Guangzhou Institute of Geochemistry CAS, China) 
  • Dan Liu (China University of Geoscience Wuhan, China)
  • Qiong Liu (Peking University, China)
  • Zhaodong Liu (Jilin University, China)
  • Geeth Manthilake (University of Clermont Auvergne, France)
  • Tim Officer (University of Chicago, USA)
  • Stefano Poli (University of Milan, Italy)
  • Melanie Sieber (University of Potsdam, Germany)
  • Vincenzo Stagno (University of Rome I, Italy)
  • Wei Sun (China University of Geoscience Wuhan, China)
  • Jim van Orman (Case Western University, USA)
  • Yuri Palyanov (Institute of Geology and Mineralogy RAS, Russia)
  • Narangoo Purevjav (University of Bayreuth, Germany)
  • Young Jay Ryu (University of Chicago, USA)
  • Qiang Tao (Jilin University, China)
  • Chao Wang (China University of Geoscience Wuhan, China) 
  • Lin Wang (University of Bayreuth, Germany)
  • Yanbin Wang (University of Chicago, USA)
  • Longjian Xie (University of Bayreuth, Germany)
  • Fang Xu (University College London, UK)
  • Takashi Yoshino (Okayama University, Japan)
  • Junfeng Zhang (China University of Geoscience Wuhan, China)
  • Dongyuan Zhou (University of Michigan, USA)

Please send an email containing the following information to Tomo Katsura to express your interest by 31 July 2021.

  1. Family Name
  2. Given Name
  3. Institution
  4. Department or institute, if any
  5. City and country
  6. Position (staff scientist, postdoc, PhD student, master student, or bachelor student)
  7. E-mail address
  8. Tentative title of presentation
  9. Desired duration of presentation
  10. Time zone relative to GMT


The abstract deadline will be 15 August 2021.

Please use the abstract template shown below.

Please send your abstract in the DOCX format to to

Abstract template
MA Workshop 2021 abstract template.docx
Microsoft Word Document 24.0 KB

Please note that no registration or abstract fee is requested in this workshop.


If you have any question, please do not hesitate to ask Tomo Katsura.

 We are looking forward to seeing you in September by Zoom.